NCFE Level 2 Certificate in the Awareness of Mental Health Problems

NCFE Level 2 Certificate in the Awareness of Mental Health Problems

Course information:

The NCFE Level 2 Certificate in Mental Health Awareness is designed to help you raise your understanding and awareness of mental health and the problems that can cause mental illness.  This course gives you knowledge of a range of different mental health issues, covering causes of the issues as well as how mental health problems can be managed and treated. At your induction , which we will arrange with you at a mutually convenient date and location you will receive your learning materials  /information pack and assessments papers .


The certificate consists of four assessments papers, normally taking up to sixteen weeks to complete.  The learning materials contain the knowledge needed to meet the assessment requirements of the course and activities allow you to practice your skills and test your learning.  Assessments are based on a combination of knowledge and skills learned on the programme.  You must complete the paper based assessments, within the agreed timescales and submit these for marking by our team of qualified tutors. Your tutor will provide feedback, advice and guidance to ensure you can complete the course.  Upon successful completion of both unit assessments you will be awarded the NCFE Level 2 Certificate in Mental Health Awareness


There are no fees for this course as the Fire Brigades Union Learning Centre has secured funding with our Learning Partners. Please ensure that when you enrol on this course you are committed to completing the programme of study within the allocated timescales. Should you not complete the course in full, you may be required to pay a fee to cover registration, administration fees and learning material costs. Funded places are subject to availability and are subject to the terms and conditions of our Further Education Partners

Course Units:

  1. Understanding mental health
  2. Understanding stress
  3. Understanding anxiety
  4. Understanding phobias
  5. Understanding depression
  6. Understanding post-natal depression
  7. Understanding bipolar disorder
  8. Understanding schizophrenia
  9. Understanding dementia
  10. Understanding eating disorders
  11. Understanding attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  12. Understanding obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD)
  13. Understanding post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Study mode:


Start date:

Flexible start dates after 1st September 2018

End date:

Last enrolment date -30 March 2019


16 Weeks - flexible learning with various start and end dates between September 2018 - March 2019

Regional availability:


Interested in this course?

Added on Fri 5th Feb 2016.
Last updated on Tue 23rd Apr 2019.

Lifelong Learning  ULF  ESF  Unionlearn 


© FBU Education 2019. Privacy Policy

Website by Beach Design Ltd.

--> -->